Student Achievements 2017

Winning H.A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award 2017

20 Jul 2017

A paper, co-authored by Prof Xue Quan (Chair Professor of EE), Dr Liao Shaowei (Engineer at State Key Laboratory of Millimeter Wave) and Mr Bisharat, Diaaaldin J M (PhD student), has been selected for H.A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award 2017 by IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society (IEEE AP-S). The award is presented to the authors of the best applications paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation during the previous year. The winning paper, titled “High Gain and Low Cost Differentially Fed Circularly Polarized Planar Aperture Antenna for Broadband Millimeter-Wave Applications”, has been published in IEEE TAP, vol. 64, no. 1, 33-42, 2016.

Winning Three Prizes in Robocon Hong Kong Contest 2017

3 Jul 2017

Two CityU teams, which were formed by 32 undergraduate students from Department of Electronic Engineering (EE), Department of Mechanical and Biomedical Engineering (MBE) and Department of Systems Engineering and Engineering Management (SEEM), participated in the Robocon HK Contest 2017 on 18 June 2017. Supervised by Dr Ricky Lau (EE), Dr Louis Liu (SEEM), Dr W C Lai (MBE) and Dr B L Luk (MBE) , one of the teams “City Dreamwork” has won the “The Best Engineering Design Prize” and “The Best Artistic Design Prize”, while the other “Dream Development” was bestowed “The Best Team Spirit Prize”.

Robocon is an international robot contest launched by Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union (ABU) since 2002. It aims to promote the exchange of robot-building skills and enhance the friendships among the young people in the Asian-Pacific region. The Robocon Hong Kong Contest 2017 was jointly organized by Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, Hong Kong Computer Society and The Hong Kong Institute of Engineers. Twelve teams from six higher education institutes, namely CityU, CUHK, HKUST, IVE, PolyU and HKU were attracted to join the competition.

More can be found from news report by Hong Kong Economic Times.

Best Student Paper Awards at iWEN 2017

20 Jun 2017

Two PhD students have won the Best Student Paper Awards at IEEE International Workshop on Electromagnetics: Applications and Student Innovation Competition (iWEM 2017). Totally 80 papers were presented in the conference and only our two students were selected to receive the Best Student Paper Awards. They are:

  • “Further Investigations on the Transparent Patch Antenna” by Mr Sun Jie, supervised by Prof K M Luk
  • “A Wideband Millimeter Wave CP Antenna by Using Tapered Dielectric Polarizer” by Mr Wang Kai Xu, supervised by Dr Steve Wong

First Prize in the 13th High Efficiency Power Amplifier Student Design Competition

19 Jun 2017

PhD student, Mr Zhou Xinyu, supervised by Dr W S Chan, has won the First Prize in the 13th High Efficiency Power Amplifier Student Design Competition, which was held during the IEEE MTTS 2017 International Microwave Symposium. Competitors were required to design and construct a Power Amplifier (PA) with both high efficiency and linearity. The one who developed a PA with the best performance as evaluated by industry experts would be the First Prize winner. The winning project is called "Efficiency Enhanced Post-Matching Doherty Power Amplifier Based on Modified Phase Compensation Network ".

PhD Student Winning Best Presenter Award at DMCIT 2017

12 JUN 2017

PhD student, Mr Hadrien Van Lierde, has been selected as the Best Presenter at ACM-2017 International Conference on Data Mining, Communications and Information Technology (DMCIT 2017). The winning paper, supervised by Prof Tommy Chow, is titled “A Hypergraph Model for Incorporating Social Interactions in Collaborative Filtering” and will be published in the volume of ACM International Conference Proceeding Series.

Winning 1st & 2nd Runner-up in the HKIE Electronics Project Competition 2017

9 May 2017

Mr Wu Chung Kit and Mr Chi Haoran (PhD students) have won the First-runner up and Second runner-up respectively in the HKIE Electronics Project Competition 2017 "Intelligent Technology Innovations for Smart Cities".

The two winning projects, both supervised by Dr K F Tsang, are titled:

  • First-runner up: "An Electrocardiogram-based Abnormal Driver's status Detection for Road Traffic Safety" , by Mr Wu Chung Kit
  • Second-runner up: "Optimal Interference-Mitigated ZigBee Based High Traffic Advanced Metering Infrastructure", by Mr Chi Haoran

Organized by The HKIE Electronics Division, the project competition aims to uplift the awareness and knowledge of IoT technologies of Hong Kong people, as well as to nurture engineers and students to effectively use and apply IoT technologies to improve the quality of life.

Winning Best Presentation Award in Inter-University Algo Trading Contest

24 FEB 2017

Two EE Year-4 students, Mr Chan Yin Hei (INFE) and Miss Xin Yan (CE), who teamed up with students from College of Business, have won the Best Presentation Award in the Inter-University Algo Trading Contest 2016/17. The winning project, which is supervised by Dr Ray Cheung (Associate Professor of EE) and Dr Michael Wong (Associate Professor of EF), is called "Salomon UPT Strategy". Organized by CASH Algo Finance Group, the competition aims to encourage university students to form a team with different required skills, including Mathematics, Statistics, Programing, Data Analytics, Quantitative Finance, Modeling, Reporting/Presentation, etc., to create and test their own designed algo trading strategies.

Winning IEEE MTT-S Undergraduate/ Pre-graduate Scholarship for Spring 2017

20 FEB 2017

Mr WONG Chun Kit, BEngECE final year student, has been awarded the IEEE MTT-S Undergraduate/Pre-graduate Scholarship for Spring 2017 by the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S), USA. This is the seventh time our students received this award. His winning research project proposal is called "A Terahertz Near-Field Measurement System" which is supervised by Prof C H Chan.

IEEE MTT-S will award up to ten undergraduate/pre-graduate scholarships each for the fall and spring semester. The purpose of these scholarships is to attract BS and MS students to the microwave and RF discipline, and to encourage them to pursue a job in the field or a PhD degree in this field.