Call for Papers

The 2007 International Conference on
Field-Programmable Technology (ICFPT 07)

The Kitakyushu International Conference Center,
Kokurakita, Kitakyushu, JAPAN

December 12 - 14, 2007



ICFPT is a fast growing conference on field-programmable technologies,
including complex programmable logic devices and systems containing
such components. The development of, and the applications of,
field-programmable technology have become an important topic of research
universities, government, and industry worldwide. Field-programmable
devices combine the flexibility of software with the performance of
hardware. Their regular structure facilitates rapid improvement in
density, capability and speed. Field-programmable systems have a
wide variety of applications, such as accelerating computations in
molecular biology and medical imaging, low-power control and data
processing for palm-size computers, and emulating novel electronic
products before manufacture; even advanced microprocessors from
Intel and ARM have benefited from field-programmable hardware emulators.

Submissions are solicited on a wide variety of topics related to
field-programmable technologies, including but not limited to:

* Applications of field-programmable technology:
biomedical and scientific computation accelerators,
network processors, real-time systems, rapid prototyping,
hardware emulation, digital signal processing, interactive
multimedia, machine vision, computer graphics, cryptography,
robotics, manufacturing systems, embedded applications, evolvable
and biologically-inspired hardware.

* Design techniques and tools for field-programmable technology:
placement, routing, synthesis, verification, technology mapping,
partitioning, parallelization, timing optimization, design and
run-time environments, languages and modeling techniques,
provably-correct development, intellectual property core based
design, domain-specific development, hardware/software co-design.

* Architectures for field-programmable technology:
field programmable gate arrays, complex programmable logic devices,
field programmable interconnect, field programmable analogue
arrays, field programmable arithmetic arrays, memory architectures,
interface technologies, low-power techniques, adaptive devices,
reconfigurable computing systems, other emerging technologies.

* Device technology for field-programmable logic:
programmable memories including non-volatile, dynamic and static
memory cells and arrays, interconnect devices, circuits and
switches, emerging VLSI device technologies.

* Novel use of reconfigurability, including evolvable hardware and
adaptive computing, possible forms and system implications of
reconfiguration for fault tolerance and avoidance, implications and
effects of nanotechnology and reconfigurable computing and others.

Important Dates:
Submission of papers:
June 25, 2007

Notification of acceptance:
September 22, 2007

Camera-ready papers and Registration due:
October 16, 2007

Conference start:
December 12 2007

Submission Guidelines

The program committee solicits papers describing original research in
field-programmable technology, including, but not limited to, the
areas of interest indicated above. Papers should be submitted
electronically in PDF format, following the IEEE style.

Full papers should not exceed 8 pages in length, while posters should
not exceed 4 pages in length. Manuscripts must not identify authors
or their affiliations. Papers that identify authors will NOT be
considered. Submissions must be made via the conference webs.

Proposals for half and full day tutorials in the areas of interest
are also sought. Initial inquiries should be directed to:
Questions regarding the FPT conference can be sent to:

Programme Committee:
Hideharu Amano (Keio University, Japan)
Jeff Arnold (Stretch Inc., USA)
Juergen Becker (University of Karlsruhe, Germany)
Paul Beckett (RMIT University, Australia)
Neil Bergmann (University of Queensland, Australia)
Vaughn Betz (Altera, Canada)
Dinesh Bhatia (University of Texas Dallas, USA)
Jinian Bian (Tsinghua University, China)
Christophe Bobda (Kaiserslautern University, Germany)
Eduardo Boemo (University of Madrid, Spain)
Christos-Savvas Bouganis (Imperial College, UK)
Gordon Brebner (Xilinx, USA)
Joao Cardoso (IST/UTL/INESC-ID, Portugal)
Mark Chang (Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering)
Yao-Wen Chang (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
Yiran Chen (Synopsys, USA)
Peter Cheung (Imperial College, UK)
Katherine Compton (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
George Constantinides (Imperial College, UK)
Debatosh Debnath (Oakland University, USA)
Andre DeHon (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
Oliver Diessel (University of New South Wales Asia, Singapore)
Pedro Diniz (Information Sciences Institute, USA)
Apostolos Dollas (Technical University of Crete, Greece)
Tarek El-Ghazawi (George Washington University, USA)
Manfred Glesner (TU Darmstadt, Germany)
Tetsuo Hironaka (Hiroshima City University, Japan)
Jim Hwang (Xilinx)
Makoto Ikeda (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Koji Inoue Kyushu University, Japan
Phil James-Roxby (Xilinx, USA)
Tom Kean (Algotronix, USA)
David Kearney (University of South Australia, Australia)
Koji Kotani (Tohoku University, Japan)
Guy Lemieux (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Philip Leong (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Hai Li (Intel, USA)
Wayne Luk (Imperial College London, UK)
Wai-Kei Mak (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
Tsutomu Maruyama (Tsukuba University, Japan)
Tulika Mitra (NUS, Singapore)
Juanjo Noguera (Xilinx, USA)
Ranjani Parthasarathy (Anna University, India)
Marco Platzner (University of Paderborn, Germany)
Kara Poon (Altera, USA)
Orion Pritchard (Altera, USA)
Steven Quigley (University of Birmingham, UK)
Jonathan Rose (University of Toronto, Canada)
Zoran Salcic (University of Auckland,New Zealand)
Marco Santambrogio (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Sakir Sezer (Queen's University Belfast, UK)
Mark Shand (Wave, France)
Satnam Singh (Microsoft, USA)
Henry Styles (Xilinx, USA)
Juergen Teich (University of Erlangen-Nuernberg, Germany)
Russ Tessier (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
Laurence Turner (University of Calgary, Canada)
Ranga Vemuri (University of Cincinnati, USA)
Ting-Chi Wang (National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan)
Steve Wilton (University of British Columbia, Canada)
Weng-Fai Wong (NUS, Singapore)
Roger Woods (Queen's University Belfast, UK)
David Wu (Chinese University of Hong Kong)
Andy Ye (Ryerson University, Canada)
Yongxin Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

Organizing Committee:
General Chair:
Tadao Nakamura (Tohoku University, Japan)

Vice Chair:
Hideharu Amano (Keio University, Japan)
Toshinori Sueyoshi (Kumamoto University.)

Technical Program Co-Chairs:
Hideharu Amano (Keio University, Japan)
Andy Ye (Ryerson University, Canada)

Toshinori Sueyoshi (Kumamoto University, Japan)

Publications Chair:
Takeshi Ikenaga (Waseda University, Japan)

Registration Chair:
Tetsuo Hironaka (Hiroshima City University, Japan)

Publicity Co-Chair:
Masanori Hariyama (Tohoku University, Japan)

Local Arrangement Co-Chair:
Shinji kimura (Waseda University, Japan)

Secretary and Assistant Treasurer:
Ryusuke Egawa (Tohoku University, Japan)

Advisory Courtesy members:
Masahiro Fujita (University of Tokyo, Japan)
Satoshi Goto (Waseda University, Japan)
Tsutomu Sasao (KIT, Japan)
Hiroto Yasuura (Kyushu University, Japan)