Chi K. Tse received the BEng degree with first class honors and the PhD degree from the University of Melbourne, Australia, in 1988 and 1991, respectively. 

       He is presently Chair Professor of Electrical Engineering at City University of Hong Kong. Prior to joining City University in October 2019, he was with the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, where he assumed Head of the Department of Electronic and Information Engineering (2005-2012), member of University Council (2013-2015), and chairman of the culture promotion committee (2000-2019) which organised cultural programmes in history, art, theatre and music

           His research interests include network applications, power electronics and nonlinear systems. He was recipient of a number of research and invention prizes including a few Best Paper Prizes from IEEE and other journals, as well as a Grand Prize in Silicon Valley International Invention Festival (2019). In 2005, 2010 and 2018, he was selected and appointed as IEEE Distinguished Lecturer. In 2006 he chaired the IEEE CAS Technical Committee on Nonlinear Circuits and Systems. He serves and has served as Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems II (2016-2019), IEEE Circuits and Systems Magazine (2013-2016), IEICE Nonlinear Theory and Applications (since 2013); as Editor of IJCTA (2014-2020) and associate editor of a few other IEEE journals. He has served on a number of IEEE committees including the IEEE Fellows Committee and the IEEE Awards Committee, and chaired the Steering Committee for IEEE Transactions on Network Science and Engineering. He has been appointed to honorary professorship and distinguished fellowship by a few Australian, Canadian and Chinese universities, including the Chang Jiang Scholar Chair Professor with Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Honorary Professor of Melbourne University, and Distinguished Professor-at-Large with the University of Western Australia. He currently serves or has served on panels of Hong Kong Research Grants Council, Innovation Technology Fund, and on the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee. While with Hong Kong Polytechnic University, he received the President’s Award for Outstanding Research twice in 1996 and 2000. 

          He is an IEEE Fellow and an IEAust Fellow.


Latest work on New Coronavirus Disease spreading

The 2019 New Coronavirus Disease has hit China hard in the initia stage of the outbreak. Having noticed the close correlation of the surge in infected cases in many Hubei cities and the spring travel rush during the early phase of the outbreak, I teamed up with my former postdoc Choujun to build a model for the epidemic spreading integrating daily Baidu Migration data with traditional disease spreading model. After three weeks of non-stop data collection and number crunching, we found the likely peak times for the epidemic for 367 cities in China and other cities in Italy, South Korea, Iran, Japan and USA, and predicted the extent of the pandemic in the coming months.


Non-Academic Activities

Reader’s Theatre “Inherit the Wind”  

I was lucky enough to be a cast member sharing the stage with King Sir and Mr Ngai Ping-long in the reader's theatre "Inherit the Wind”. This was my first theatre performance, and a rare chance to experience acting and the fun of being on stage, and at the same time to reflect on the many questions about life brought up by this thought-evoking play.

Hong Kong’s Mosaic History — A General Education Lecture

Despite our Chinese root, Hong Kong’s lifestyle and culture are incredibly diversified. Evidences of foreign influence are visible from all walks of life. From our cup of milk tea at Cha Chaan Ting to the indispensable Japanese rice cooker that we use everyday, Hong Kong people’s life has been deeply influenced by the Russian, English, French, Italian, Japanese and recently Korean.  In this lecture I took students through a "time-lapse” tour of our cultural history. 

Talk Show with Celebrated Lyricist Cheng Kok-Kong

🙏 Heartfelt thanks to Mr Cheng and the PolyU’s Artist-in-Residence programme team for the opportunity to perform and host the artist’s talk show. In 2018, PolyU invited Hong Kong’s celebrated lyricist Mr Cheng Kok-Kong as its Artist-in-Residence. A series of programmes were staged including an exhibition, a workshop and a meet-the-artist session.

© Michael Tse 2020