2020 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we warmly welcome you to join the 2020 Asia-Pacific Microwave Conference (APMC 2020) virtually in Hong Kong from Tuesday, 8 December 2020 to Friday, 11 December 2020. The conference was launched in India in 1986, China in 1988 and Japan in 1990, and then becomes an annual conference since 1992. It was held in Hong Kong in 1997 and 2008 with great success. The APMC is now recognized as one of the most important microwave conferences in the world.

Due to the travel restrictions imposed in light of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have to organize the APMC 2020 in Hong Kong as an online conference. We are gratified that the change has helped attract many more submissions from many countries in the Asia-Pacific region covering IEEE Region 10 and other Regions across the globe. This enable us to produce a comprehensive technical program for facilitating the exchange of information on the advancement and progress in the fields of microwaves, millimeter waves, terahertz waves, infrared and optical waves for accelerating the technological development in the Asia-Pacific region.

APMC 2020 is organized by the IEEE AP/MTT Hong Kong Chapter, technically co-sponsored by the State Key Laboratory of Terahertz and Millimeter Waves (City University of Hong Kong), the Department of Electrical Engineering (City University of Hong Kong), the Department of Electronic Engineering (The Chinese University of Hong Kong), the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, the IEEE Microwave Theory and Technique Society and the European Microwave Association. It is supported by the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation, IEEE Hong Kong Section, IEEE CT/OE Hong Kong Chapter.

The organization of the conference is a joint effort by many volunteers. We are deeply grateful to all Organizing Committee members, Technical Program Committee members and paper reviewers for their contributions to ensure the smooth running of the conference. We also appreciate the great support and encouragement from the International Steering Committee in organizing the APMC through live streaming for the first time.

The technical program consists of high-quality plenary talks, invited and contributed papers. In particular, we urge you not to miss the invited presentations in the two Workshops, the Opening Session, the Closing Session, the Professor Kenneth K. Mei Memorial Lectures, the Session on commemorating the beginning of antenna research by Professor Kai Fong Lee four decades ago in Hong Kong, the Special Sessions and the Regular Sessions, featuring innovative and enabling technologies by national academicians, IEEE award recipients and IEEE Fellows from the academia and world-class technical leaders from the industry.

The prestigious APMC Prize for the best regular papers and best student papers will be announced by the Award Committee Chairs at the Closing Session to be held on Friday, 11 December 2020. Evaluation is based on the novelty and originality of the work described in the paper and presented at the conference.

Last but not least, we are grateful to the industrial sponsors that have offered generously not only monetary terms but also their enthusiastic and continued support.

We look forward to meeting you all during the online conference.

Kwai Man Luk, General Chair
Hang Wong, General Co-Chair
Quan Xue, General Co-Chair


Organizer Technical Sponsors Supporters


Gold Sponsor Platinum Sponsors Silver Sponsors
(listed in alphabetical order) (listed in alphabetical order) (listed in alphabetical order)




Media Sponsor